Any experience with supercharged SBF motors in a GT40?

Doug S.

The protoplasm may be 72, but the spirit is 32!
Lifetime Supporter
OK, I'm a newbie, but I've been reading the forum for quite a while. I did a search for "blower", "supercharger", "supercharged", and "forced induction" and came up with nothing. I am planning on using an SBF, most likely a stroked version of the 302 (331 preferred over the 347), and would like to use a centrifugal supercharger. I have yet to see a post regarding anyone using this combination in a GT40 kit. Does anyone have any experience with this combo, or, perhaps more likely, is there a reason I need to forget about the blower? I do know some kits include brackets to relocate the alternator, so I can see that there might be space issues (however, if the engine bay is big enough to hold a Ford FE or one of the Ford modular motors, there ought to be space for a centrifugal blower, it seems).

If anyone can help me with this issue, I sure would appreciate it. I am in the process of rebuilding a couple of SBF motors at this time and I don't want to invest in a blower (ala Vortech, etc) if it is going to be unusable.

Thanks, guys!

YD,E./PNB

Doug

I haven't seen any replicas yet with a blower.
Reason is space in the area where centrifugal blower is usually located is very small since engine is set so close
to the firewall. Of course where there is a will, there's
a way, and I have no doubt it could be done with a lot of custom fabrication/engine placement.

There's actually been more talk about using a Roots blower,
particularly with the Mod motor as done in the new Ford GT.
That's more likely to happen as people want to to copy
the new Ford's sexy engine.

I believe there are a couple replicas running a turbo...
but your question specifically was about a blower.
Regards

MikeD

Doug S.

Lifetime Supporter