Draining Coolant

I own SPF GT40 P/2171, Roush 427SR.
I am uncertain how to drain the coolant from the vehicle.
I see what appears to be a drain plug on the radiator (lower passenger side), but it's on the inside of the front clip.
If that is the drain plug, how does on go about draining the coolant from a plug that is 'inside' the vehicle.

Thanks. (I'm still a rookie, even on a basic issue like this.)

Jack Houpe

GT40s Supporter
Don't laugh but I use a shop vac to remove all the coolent then dump it into a container for using again, just make sure your vacuum is clean. Disconnect the radiator hose from the top of the radiator and stick the vac on the hose.

Seymour Snerd

Lifetime Supporter
Don't laugh but I use a shop vac to remove all the coolent then dump it into a container for using again, just make sure your vacuum is clean. Disconnect the radiator hose from the top of the radiator and stick the vac on the hose.

I'm not laughing I'm just impressed. That never occurred to me.

FWIW I Tee'd a short piece of hose into the heater hose up front, and plugged it. To drain I then pull the hose out so it's hanging out next to the left front wheel, put a pan under it, jack the rear of the car up, and remove the plug. However, that still doesn't get all the coolant so next time I'll use Jack's method.

Tim Kay

Lifetime Supporter
Any other bright ideas from you geniuses? I'll probably adapt a tee and hose like Alan during my first flush but since it's already full of water I would like a solution that doesn't get the front chassis area full of dirty used coolant.