Oil Cooler Adapter with Integrated Thermostat

Doug S.

The protoplasm may be 72, but the spirit is 32!
Lifetime Supporter
Thanks, Ron....I'm thinking about adding a second oil filter (an Oberg) to the Cobra, this will come in handy. I want to use the 28 micron filter size and don't think it's a good idea to try to push cold oil through that.

Cheers from Doug!

JohnC

Missing a few cylinders
Lifetime Supporter
I've been running the Mocal version of that thermostat for nearly 7 years on my 2JZ Supra motor. Works well - no problems. You can see it on the right in this pic, taken in early 2004 just before the motor went in the car.

Attachments

• JDM Motor 012 (Large).jpg
    JDM Motor 012 (Large).jpg
    59.7 KB · Views: 254
I've been running this Earl's unit on both my GT350 and 427 Cobra replicas for 15 years with no problems. I've never actually bothered to instrument my oil temperature in the GT350; instead I trust that the thermostat stays closed to let the oil heat up as much as possible, and then opens up to let the air/oil cooler cool it to keep it as cool as possible.

BTW the thermostat is set to open at 180 degrees F....

Mike

Randy V

Moderator-Admin
Staff member
Admin
Lifetime Supporter
Thanks, Ron....I'm thinking about adding a second oil filter (an Oberg) to the Cobra, this will come in handy. I want to use the 28 micron filter size and don't think it's a good idea to try to push cold oil through that.

Cheers from Doug!

Like this one was on my Cobra?

IMG_0170.jpg

I didn't run a Thermostat on this system as it was race only and it was always allowed warm-up time before heading to the track..

I just installed the Mocal for the LS engines. It's only been run a couple of times but I did at least verify that it worked.

Ron Earp

Admin
BTW the thermostat is set to open at 180 degrees F....

Mike