importing a completed replica gt40 into the US

Hi, looking to find out if a completed gt40 replica can be imported into the US without being 25 years old , i am guessing a lot has to do with how the title /paper work reads , some are the year it replicates and others are the manufacture or assembly date . Any info would be great
thank You Bob Peckham

Here is at least one thread on the topic from this site: https://www.gt40s.com/threads/importing-a-completed-kit-car-from-outside-the-us.10232/

I have no first hand knowledge but would think EPA and DOT will present problems. I purchased a set of wheels from France and because they were not DOT certified rims, customs stopped them and would not let them pass until I signed off on a form that said they would NOT be used on a US road and were only for racing purposes or "research".

On the other hand, I am pretty certain you could purchase say a chassis or body and "build" your own kit car (kit car is the key) and get it registered in the US, including California.

Best of luck and let us know how it plays out.

Scott

Lifetime Supporter
Bob,

What state are you going to register it in? I had a cobra registered in NJ for 20 years, but I had an absolute nightmare registering it in MA. That process was 1000x more involved than Lee's import experience above.

I am in NC now but i am from MA originally and have gone thru the MA registering back in the early 2000's a couple of times with cobras.
The problem i see is rules have changed over the years as to turn key minus versus incomplete vechicle's. The link to the thread posted is 20 years old and alot has changed during that time
Regards Bob

Julian

Lifetime Supporter